User login


You are here

2020 Warner T. Koiter Medal – Professor Anthony Waas

The Executive Committee of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division is pleased to announce and congratulate Professor Anthony Waas, Richard A. Auhll Department Chair and Felix Pawlowski Collegiate Professor of Aerospace Engineering, University of Michigan, as the recipient of the 2020 Warner T. Koiter Medal. This award includes includes a medal, a plaque, and an honorarium.

The Warner T. Koiter Medal, established in 1996, is bestowed in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of solid mechanics with special emphasis on the effective blending of theoretical and applied elements of the discipline, and on a high degree of leadership in the international solid mechanics community. The award was funded by the Delft University of Technology, The Netherlands, to honor Warner T. Koiter for his fundamental work in nonlinear stability of structures in the most general sense, for his diligence in the effective application of these theories, his international leadership in mechanics, and his effectiveness as a teacher and researcher. 

Professor Waas receives the Koiter Medal for outstanding contributions to the mechanics of composite materials, particularly analytical work, experiments and predictive modeling of compressive response and failure of composite structures; and for the development of computational tools for progressive damage and failure analysis of composite structures.


Yuri Bazilevs

Chair, ASME Applied Mechanics Division 


L. Roy Xu's picture

Still late for your significant achievements.


Subscribe to Comments for "2020 Warner T. Koiter Medal – Professor Anthony Waas"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate