User login


You are here

2018 Stephen P. Timoshenko Medal - Professor Ares Rosakis

The Executive Committee of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division is pleased to announce and congratulate Professor Ares Rosakis, the Theodore von Kármán Professor of Aeronautics and Mechanical Engineering, California Institute of Technology, as the recipient of the 2018 Timoshenko Medal.   This award, which includes a medal, a plaque, and an honorarium, will be presented at the AMD Honors and Awards Banquet, tentatively scheduled on Tuesday, November 13, 2018, during the ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition, to be held in Pittsburg, Pennsylvania, November 12-15, 2018. As a part of a tradition, toward the end of the Applied Mechanics Banquet, the Timoshenko medalist of the year will deliver a speech upon receiving the Medal.

The Timoshenko Medal was established in 1957 and is conferred in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of applied mechanics. Instituted by the Applied Mechanics Division, it honors Stephen P. Timoshenko, world-renowned authority in the field, and it commemorates his contributions as author and teacher.

Professor Rosakis receives the Timoshenko Medal for pioneering contributions to the mechanics of dynamic failure of geological materials and systems, earthquake source physics, and seismic hazards mitigation.


Pradeep Sharma, Chair
AMD Executive Committee

Subscribe to Comments for "2018 Stephen P. Timoshenko Medal - Professor Ares Rosakis"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate