User login


You are here

NSF: 2007 Alan T. Waterman Award Winner

Rashid K. Abu Al-Rub's picture

Photo of Peidong Yang, 2007 Alan T. Waterman Award Winner2007 Alan T. Waterman Award Winner

Peidong Yang

The National Science Foundation’s Highest Honor

The National Science Foundation congratulates Peidong Yang, a chemist at the University of California, Berkeley as the 2007 Alan T. Waterman award winner. Yang is a nanotechnology researcher who has pioneered research into nanowires, strings of atoms that show promise for a range of high-technology devices, from tiny lasers and computer circuits to inexpensive solar panels and biological sensors. Th e annual Waterman award recognizes an outstanding young researcher in any field of science or engineering supported by NSF. Candidates may not be more than 35 years old, or seven years beyond receiving a doctorate and must stand out for their individual achievements. In addition to a medal, the awardee receives a grant of $500,000 over a 3-year period for scientific research or advanced study in their field.

For detailed nomination information, go to:
Information on past recipients is also available at:

Subscribe to Comments for "NSF: 2007 Alan T. Waterman Award Winner"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate