User login


You are here

2022 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award – Professor Arif Masud

The Executive Committee of the ASME Applied Mechanics Division is pleased to announce and congratulate Professor Arif Masud, John and Eileen Blumenschein Professor of Civil and Environmental Engineering, University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign, as the recipient of the 2022 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Division Award. This award, which includes a medal, a certificate, and an honorarium, will be presented at the AMD Honors and Awards Banquet, during the 2022 ASME International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition, the dates and location of which will be announced by ASME in due course.

The Applied Mechanics Award was established in 1988 and renamed the Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award in 2008. This Award is given to an outstanding individual for significant contributions in the practice of engineering mechanics; contributions may result from innovation, research, design, leadership or education.

Professor Masud is being recognized for fundamental contributions to the theory of Stabilized and Variational Multiscale Methods in Computational Mechanics.

Pradeep Guduru

Chair, ASME Applied Mechanics Division 

Subscribe to Comments for "2022 Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award – Professor Arif Masud"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate