User login


You are here

Call for Nominations for ASME's Applied Mechanics Division Awards 2018

Dear Colleagues,

We wanted to alert you for the call for nominations of the awards of the Applied Mechanics Division (AMD) of the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME), which are due on September 15th, 2018.

The AMD seeks nominations for the awards listed below. All the awards are international. Neither the nominee nor the nominator need be a member of the ASME. However, nominators must not be active members of the respective award committees. Further descriptions of the awards are given at the following link:

Each nomination should consist of a form of nomination and several letters of support, as described at

Nominations should be submitted as PDF files to the AMD Division Chair, Balakumar Balachandran, by email (, before September 15th, 2018.

The various available Awards are as follows:

Timoshenko Medal: The Timoshenko Medal, established in 1957, is conferred in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of applied mechanics. Instituted by the Applied Mechanics Division, it honors Stephen P. Timoshenko, world-renowned authority in the field, and it commemorates his contributions as author and teacher.

Warner T. Koiter Medal: The Warner T. Koiter Medal, established in 1996, is bestowed in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of solid mechanics with special emphasis on the effective blending of theoretical and applied elements of the discipline, and on a high degree of leadership in the international solid mechanics community.

Daniel C. Drucker Medal: The Daniel C. Drucker Medal, established in 1997, is conferred in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of applied mechanics and mechanical engineering through research, teaching, and service to the community over a substantial period.

Thomas K. Caughey Dynamics Award: The Thomas K. Caughey Dynamics Award, established in 2008, and is conferred in recognition of an individual who has made significant contributions to the field of nonlinear dynamics through practice, research, teaching, and/or outstanding leadership.

Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award: The Applied Mechanics Award was established in 1988 and renamed the Ted Belytschko Applied Mechanics Award in 2008. The Award is given to an outstanding individual for significant contributions in the practice of engineering mechanics; contributions may result from innovation, research, design, leadership or education.

Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award: The Young Investigator Award was established in 1998 and renamed the Thomas J.R. Hughes Young Investigator Award in 2008. The Award recognizes special achievements in Applied Mechanics for researchers who have not reached her/his 41st birthday by December 31st of the year of the awards presentation.

Warm regards,

Executive Committee of the Applied Mechanics Division

Subscribe to Comments for "Call for Nominations for ASME's Applied Mechanics Division Awards 2018"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate