User login


You are here

Achenbach Receives National Medal of Science

Carl T. Herakovich's picture

Jan D. Achenbach, Walter P. Murphy Professor and McCormick School Distinguished Professor at Northwestern University was presented a 2005 National Medal of Science by President George W. Bush on July 27. Achenbach, who  is well known in the mechanics community, was honored for his seminal contributions to engineering research and education in the area of wave propagation in solids and for pioneering the field of quantitative non-destructive evaluation. Previously, Achenbach received a 2003 National medal of Technology from President Bush.

Jan has been a member of the U. S. National Committee on Theoretical and Applied Mechanics since 1973, and currently serves as Chair of the Solids Symposium Panel of the International Union of Theoritical and Applied Mechanics. 

Our heartiest congratulations to Jan on this outstanding recognition of his accomplishment.


Subscribe to Comments for "Achenbach Receives National Medal of Science"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate