User login


You are here

Announcing the 2019 Award Winners from the Society of Engineering Science (SES)

The Society of Engineering Science (SES) oversees several awards and honors to members and eminent scholars of the field. Below are the 2019 distinguished award winners!


Cemal Eringen Medal

Prof. Evelyn Hu, Harvard University

Citation: "For seminal contributions at the intersection of semiconductor electronics and photonics, and leadership in nanoscale science and engineering."


W. Prager Medal

Prof. Horacio Espinosa, Northwestern University

Citation: "In recognition of his influential and sustained fundamental contributions to the multiscale experimental characterization of novel materials and nanosystems."


G. I. Taylor Medal

Prof. Arif Masud, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Citation: "For fundamental contributions to the theory of Stabilized and Variational Multiscale Methods in Computational Fluid Dynamics and their widespread adoption and utilization in industry and at national laboratories."


SES J. Rice Medal

Prof. Pradeep Sharma, Univ. of Houston

Citation: " For creative contributions to understanding the science underpinning flexoelectricity and its applications to engineered and biological systems.”


SES Young Investigator Medal

Prof. Jia-Liang Le, University of Minnesota


SES Fellows

Prof. Somnath Ghosh, Johns Hopkins Univ.

Prof. Arash Yavari, Georgia Institute of Technology


Subscribe to Comments for "Announcing the 2019 Award Winners from the Society of Engineering Science (SES)"

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate