User login


You are here

SEM 2019 Mechanics of Time Dependent Materials June 3-6

Meredith N. Silberstein's picture

Dear Colleagues,

The Time-Dependent Materials Technical Division of the Society of Experimental Mechanics invites you to submit an abstract to Track 2,“Challenges in Mechanics of Time-Dependent Materials” at the SEM International Congress & Exposition on Experimental and Applied Mechanics (Reno, NV, June 3-6, 2019).


We are soliciting papers involving time (and rate) dependence in all materials, including polymers, metals, biomaterials, granular materials, gels, foams, fluids, and glasses. Time dependence includes strain rate, creep, stress relaxation or frequency effects.Characterization across length scales is encouraged, including effects of inhomogeneities and interfaces. Experimentally informed constitutive models are welcome, as are papers on time dependence in additive manufacturing (with Research TD), fracture, biomaterials, and composites for jointly-sponsored sessions in collaboration with other SEM technical divisions.  At this time, track keynote speakers are:


 Prof. Hans van Dommelen, Eindhoven University of Technology

 Dr. Jevan Furmanski, ExxonMobil Corporate Strategic Research


Please submit your 200 word abstract by the October 17th deadline.  When doing so, please select the Track by scrolling to“Challenges in Mechanics of Time-Dependent Materials”.  Please indicate “Amirkhizi, Alireza” as session organizer, if you are not sure about the specific topic/session.


Please see the attached flyer for more information on this track. Thanks for your support in advance and we look forward to seeing you again at SEM in 2019.


Sincerely, the TDM-TD Committee,

Alireza V. Amirkizi, University of Massachusetts, Lowell

Bonnie Antoun, Sandia National Laboratories

Alex Arzoumanidis, Psylotech

Aaron Forster, National Institute of Standards and Technology

Jevan Furmanski, ExxonMobil

Richard Hall, Air Force Research Laboratory

Yuhang Hu, Georgia Tech

Jae-Hwang Lee, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Hongbing Lu, University of Texas – Dallas

Takenobu Sakai, Saitama University, Japan

Meredith Silberstein, Cornell University

PDF icon Track 2_TDM_2019 (1).pdf144.64 KB
Subscribe to Comments for "SEM 2019 Mechanics of Time Dependent Materials June 3-6"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate