User login


You are here

Prof. Kaushik Bhattacharya to receive the Warner T. Koiter Medal

Kaushik Dayal's picture

Kaushik Bhattacharya, Howell N. Tyson, Sr., Professor of Mechanics and Professor of Materials Science as well as Executive Officer for Mechanical and Civil Engineering at the California Institute of Technology, has been selected to receive the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASMEWarner T. Koiter Medal. He is receiving the medal, “for the development of novel, rigorous, and predictive methods for the multiscale behavior of modern engineering materials at scales ranging from the sub-atomic to the polycrystal, with special focus on multi-functional materials”.

The Warner T. Koiter Medal is bestowed in recognition of distinguished contributions to the field of solid mechanics with special emphasis on the effective blending of theoretical and applied elements of the discipline, and on a high degree of leadership in the international solid mechanics community.  Professor Bhattacharya will receive the medal during the 2015 International Mechanical Engineering Congress and Exposition to be held in Houston, Texas. He will also deliver the 2015 Koiter Lecture.



Subscribe to Comments for "Prof. Kaushik Bhattacharya to receive the Warner T. Koiter Medal"

Recent comments

More comments


Subscribe to Syndicate